Academics

Amherst County Public Schools (ACPS) offers a student-centered academic program that focuses on the relationships between talented students and capable and caring teachers. Our goal, Every Child-Every Day emphasizes the development of students’ passions and abilities.  
 
Elementary student with globeThe cultural and economic diversity of our community, the teaching styles, and the approaches to learning are all essential to ACPS Academics. We believe that in today’s global world, our students need to know more than one culture, one history, and one language. 
 
 
ACPS offers a challenging curriculum for all students starting with our pre-school programs, through elementary, middle, and high school. We continue to expand programs that are geared toward active strategies that involve the students with each other and with the subject matter being studied. Students learn differently. To meet those different needs, our teachers are encouraged to offer students opportunities that support mastery of learning through portfolios, projects, presentations, and the traditional assessment format. 
 
Graduation of studentsThe ultimate goal is for students to exit ACPS being prepared for college or a career in our community or abroad. Advanced Placement courses, as well as, Career and Technical offerings allow students to forge a path that is right for them. Whatever the path chosen a rigorous academic experience is available for all students. Instruction is rooted in the basics, yet encourages students to take responsibility for their own learning. Amherst County Public Schools is committed to supporting a student-centered academic program that contributes to a vibrant learning community.
 
To learn more about academics in Amherst County Public Schools, select an Instructional Service hyperlink below.
 
Office of the Director of Academics    
Dr. Dana Norman, Director dnorman@amherst.k12.va.us 434-946-9386 x9343
2015-2021 Strategic Plan    
Curriculum and Pacing    
Instructional Policy    
Program of Studies    
School Report Cards    
Schools    
Teacher Direct    

 

Instructional Services    
Brendon Albon, Supervisor of Local
Assessment, Math, Science, and Gifted
balbon@amherst.k12.va.us 946-9386 x9556
Math    
Science    
Gifted    
Joe Goldman, Supervisor of Technology jgoldman@amherst.k12.va.us 847-4210
Technology    
ITRT    
Kevin Harrison, Supervisor of Student
Data and Assessment
kharrison@amherst.k12.va.us 946-9386 x9553
Wayne Lyle, Supervisor of
Literacy, Early Childhood, and
Federal Programs
wlyle@amherst.k12.va.us 946-9386 x9557
Robin Wheeler, Title 1 Instructional
Support Specialist
rwheeler@amherst.k12.va.us 946-9386 x9369
English (Language Arts/Reading)    
Federal Programs    
Foreign Language    
Pre-School Programs    
School Improvement    
Craig Maddox, Supervisor of CTE,
History, and Elective Programs
cmaddox@amherst.k12.va.us 946-9386 x9554
Career and Technical Education    
Fine Arts    
History and Social Sciences    
Stephanie Moehlenkamp, Coordinator of
Guidance and Assessment
smoehlenkamp@amherst.k12.va.us 946-9386 x9562
School Counseling    
Assessment    
General Education Diploma (GED)    
Joshua Neighbors, Supervisor of
Student Services
jneighbors@amherst.k12.va.us 946-9386 x9559
Juli Albert, Special Education
Instructional Specialist
jalbert@amherst.k12.va.us 946-9386 x9558
Student Services    
Special Education Services    
Section 504    
Summer School Information    
William Wells, Assistant Superintendent wwells@amherst.k12.va.us 946-9343
2018-2019 High School Code of Conduct    
2018-2019 Middle and Elementary
School Code of Conduct
   
Family LIfe Guidelines and Standards    
Health and Physical Education SOL Standards    

 

Shipping Address
Dr. Dana Norman
Director of Academics 
153 Washington Street
Amherst, VA 24521
Mailing Address
Dr. Dana Norman
Director of Academics
P.O. Box 1257
Amherst, VA 24521